🦉Our mystery animal is the Kookaburra!

The scientific name of this animal is 𝘋𝘢𝘤𝘦𝘭𝘰 𝘯𝘰𝘷𝘢𝘦𝘨𝘶𝘪𝘯𝘦𝘢𝘦, the Laughing kookaburra.
There are four species of kookaburra. The Rufous- bellied kookaburra in lowland New Guinea, the Spangled kookaburra in the Aru Islands and Southern New Guinea, the Blue-winged kookaburra in northern Australia and southern New Guinea and the Laughing kookaburra native to eastern Australia and introduced to southwest Australia, Tasmania and New Zealand.
Laughing Kookaburras are believed to pair for life. The nest is a bare chamber in a naturally occurring tree hollow or in a burrow excavated in an arboreal (tree-dwelling) termite mound. Both sexes share the incubation duties and both care for the young.
Curious for more? Head to the link below to discover more about these amazing creatures.


Learn more here!